Skip to main content
Fleet Week

MHS Art Students Earn Scholastic Art Awards

A panel of jurors, consisting of artists, photographers, designers, educators and curators, reviewed thousands of works of art submitted by students in grades 7-12 from throughout the Northern New Jersey Region.  The process is "blind" so the jurors do not know any personal information (name, town, school) about the students. The artwork is reviewed with the following criteria of Originality, Technical Skill, and Emergence of Personal Vision.

The art instructors at the Millburn High School encourage their students to participate in the Scholastic Art Awards competition as the experience offers the students an opportunity to gain recognition in a wide range of media and celebrates the students’ unique creative visions. Winning students represent a broad spectrum of the art curriculum and include works in media such as printmaking, painting, drawing, digital arts, sculpture, crafts and photography. The High School Art Staff includes Kathleen Harte Gilsenan, Christina Benson Vos, Susan Bromirski, Katherine Reilly, Mary Weber and Jackie Hummer. 

The student awards include the Gold Key, Silver Key and Honorable Mention in both the Individual category and the Senior Portfolio category. Millburn’s 5 Gold Key Winners have their artwork on display at the Montclair Art Museum until March 17th. The museum is located at 3 South Mountain Avenue in Montclair. The Gold Key pieces will also be juried for National Scholastic awards, which include Silver Award and Gold Award. The National Award ceremony is held at Carnegie Hall in the spring. 


As mentioned on the Scholastic Awards' website, "Since 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have recognized some of America’s most celebrated artists while they were teenagers, including: Andy Warhol, Zac Posen, Idelle Weber, Ken Burns, Luis Jiménez, and Kay WalkingStick." 


Millburn Township has every reason to be extremely proud to count this year's winners among these esteemed Scholastic Awards alumni!


2018-19 winners: